Europejskie Ugrupowanie Współpracy Terytorialnej
Project partners:
miasto Nowy Targ miasto Kezmarok


The introductory stage - to frame the concept of new form of cooperation - EGTC. Commenced in 2007 with the formal appointment of the Polish-Slovak working committee, during which the concept of creating an EGTC was taken up. The grounds to develop the project of establishing a structure supporting strong partnership have been developed through the works of the committee as well as the support received from the Polish and Slovak local authorities of the border region, which on 17 April 2009 adopted the Declaration on establishing a European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation Euroregion "Tatry" and expressed their consent to the transformation of the "Tatra" Euroregion into European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation.

Stage 1 involves activities revolving around the building of structures of the prospective EGTC: the conference of consultative nature on the Polish side of the border and the informational workshop in Slovakia with the view to open the field for conducting the studies and analysis as well as the exchange of experience and consulting the experts and drafting the documents for the new structure.

Stage 2 is the creation of the EGTC and the inauguration of its activity. It begins with the adoption of draft documents by the decision-making bodies. The documents will then be accepted by the joint General Assembly convened by the partners of the project and the registration procedure will be implemented. This stage will the completed with the conference establishing the EGTC.

Stage 3 involves extensive promotional and informational activities - preparation of publications and promotional materials, launching the website, holding press conferences, participation in the Open Days organized by the Committee of the Regions.


Project co-financed by the European Union from the European Regional Development
Fund under the Republic of Poland - Slovak Republic Cross-border Co-operation Operational
Programme 2007-2013 and from the funds of the Malopolskie Voivodship